Voters choose Green Plaque winners

More than 4,500 votes were cast for people and places across Leicestershire to be honoured with a Green Plaque this year. With a shortlist containing people, places and a racehorse from across the county, Leicestershire County Council’s Green Plaque Awards scheme will once again commemorate the county’s past.

The six winners chosen by public vote from a shortlist of 12 are:

Angel Yard, home of Ladybird Books - Loughborough
William Henry Bragg, winner of Nobel Prize for Physics – Market Harborough
Private William Henry Buckingham, awarded the Victoria Cross - Countesthorpe
Sergeant John Hannah, awarded the Victoria Cross – Birstall
George Stephenson – ‘Father of the railways’ - Ravenstone
Sunloch, winner of the Grand National – Loughborough

Nick Rushton, Leader of Leicestershire County Council, said: “We received even more votes for this year’s shortlist, thank you to everyone who took the time to get behind their favourite and support the Green Plaque scheme.

“We will now work to get these next six plaques installed and continue to celebrate the people and places of Leicestershire’s rich history.

“For those nominees that were not successful this is not the end, they can be put forward again for an award when we look for new nominations next year.”

The Green Plaque Awards scheme was set up to recognise and celebrate people and places which have made an important and enduring contribution to our county.

More details on the winners - and comments from the people who nominated them - can be found at


Last updated September 2015