Still time to vote for a Green Plaque award

There's still time to cast your vote and honour the people and places of Leicestershire’s past.

A shortlist of 12 people and places is seeking the public vote as part of Leicestershire County Council’s Green Plaque Awards scheme.

People can choose up to six of their favourites from the shortlist, the winning plaques will be unveiled later in the year. The deadline for voting is Monday, April 6.

This year’s shortlist is:

  • Angel Yard, Loughborough
  • Charles Bennion, entrepreneur and philanthropist, Newtown Linford
  • William Henry Bragg, Nobel Prize winner for Physics, Market Harborough
  • Private William Henry Buckingham, awarded the Victoria Cross, Countesthorpe
  • Samuel Swinfen Burdett, lawyer and politician, Broughton Astley
  • William Cotton, manufacturer and inventor, Loughborough
  • Sergeant John Hannah, awarded the Victoria Cross, Birstall
  • Lord Macaulay, historian, essayist, poet and politician, Rothley
  • George Stephenson, ‘Father of the Railways’, Ravenstone
  • Sunloch, winner of the Grand National, Loughborough
  • The Swan Porch, Melton Mowbray
  • Joseph Wilkes, industrialist, Measham

Vote for up to six of your favourites online at or pick up and drop off a voting form at your local library.

You can also send your list of favourites to: Green Plaques, Communities & Wellbeing, Room 500, Leicestershire County Council, County Hall, Glenfield, LE3 8RA.

Last updated September 2015